Is Domestic Travel About To Become More Complicated?

Domestic travel is about to get trickier for residents of Louisiana, Minnesota, New Hampshire and New York. Starting next year, residents from these states will be required to show a second form of ID apart from their state driver’s license to board a domestic plane. In December of 2013, the Department of Homeland Security passed the Real ID Act, which set federal standards for government issued IDs. The states listed above do not require residents to show proof of citizenship or residency in order to obtain their license and, therefore, do not pass the new security standards.

So, what counts as a second form of ID?

  • Passports
  • Passport Cards
  • Military or Government IDs
  • Enhanced Driver’s License or EDL (only available to New York and Minnesota residents)
  • NEXUS Card
  • Global Entry Card

At this time, the exact date that these changes will be implemented is unclear but the Department of Homeland Security has stated that it will be “no sooner than in 2016”.

By JNR Incorporated


Written by Stephanie Thomas


JNR Incorporated is a results-based, globally recognized leader that specializes in creating custom incentive travel, meeting, event, prepaid card and merchandise programs that motivate, engage and inspire the employees, customers and channel members of our clients. We have over 30 years of experience working with Fortune 500 companies in many diverse industries. Our programs are tailored to fit the specific needs of marketing, sales, management and human resource professionals. The unique solutions we apply are measurable and proven to increase performance, loyalty and revenues.

Image “Passport” by Tony Webster is licensed by CC by 2.0